Pumpkin Protein Pancake, with oats!

Last night I realized I had not taken in my full amount of protein grams for the day and was running a little low on carbs as well. I was really craving something sweet and comforting last night, which also helped lead to this recipe. I have made several different protein recipes from various sources that were all good in their own way, but I was hoping for something with a more traditional texture and also a complete breakfast or meal for a change up. I usually eat eggs and a bowl of oats (doctored up of course) every morning… so experimenting with this recipe again this morning was great! 🙂 I devoured them last night, then my middle son and I enjoyed them again this morning while I tweaked the recipe that I threw together last night. YUM!

Ingredients:
3/4 scoop of vanilla whey protein powder (mine was vanilla cake batter this time)
1 1/2 Tbsp Coconut flour (not the same as regular flour)
3 egg whites
1 tsp Cinnamon
dash of allspice (optional, I was out of pumpkin pie spice… you could add that)
1 heaping Tbsp of 100% Pumpkin Puree
1/3 cup quick oats
2 Tbsp of unsweetened Almond milk
1 tbsp. of walnuts (opt topping)
100% natural maple syrup (topping)
Coconut oil for cooking

Directions: Mix protein powder, coconut flour, oats, spices in bowl. Add eggs and whisk together. Add almond milk, pumpkin puree. Heat non stick pan with about 1/2 Tbsp Coconut oil to medium or slightly warmer ( I use #6 on my burner). You want just enough coconut oil to coat pan and be around edges of pancakes. I sometimes swirl my pan as they cook. Pour in pan as 3 pancakes. Cook until rising slightly, edges start to cook and bottom is browning and then flip over. I serve with 1 tbsp. walnuts. I loved them with a small amount of 100% natural maple syrup.

Note: The coconut flour is not like traditional flours or other nut flours. I used it to help the pancakes be a little fluffier and fuller. You could leave it out if you are not buying coconut flour.. yet. Your pancakes will probably be a little flatter. I encourage you to buy some and start trying coconut flour (flourless) baking. I love morning muffins with coconut flour!

Macronutrients: I figured these with the protein powder I used. My other protein powder actually has a few more grams of protein and less carbs and fats (half). The protein you choose may change the macro’s but this gives you an idea of whats in there! For me this fits my protein, carb, fat ratio for breakfast.. one of my big meals for the day! You can also use a full scoop of protein if you need more to fit your needs for the day.
Protein: 32g
Carbs: 34g
Fat: 13g (with walnuts, 8g without) (my other protein powder made this only 8g even with the walnuts)

DSC_1031
image